People in major cities suffer from high levels of air pollution, causing health problems for many. What are the main reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Many megalopolises and big cities are known for their high levels of air pollution, which cause serious illnesses and even premature death for city residents. This essay will discuss the principal reasons for bad air quality in cities and how this problem can be tackled. Urban pollution today is generated by several sources, with the single largest cause being vehicles. Today millions of cars crowd the narrow city streets. As a result, the poisonous particles emitted by the cars ’ diesel and petrol engines become trapped between tall buildings, causing the pollution levels to accumulate. Some of the pollution is also produced by domestic sources – such as heating systems – and manufacturing, though their contribution is usually significantly smaller. From my perspective, the most obvious approach to clean up city air is to fight the biggest polluter — private cars. In order to reduce their numbers, two main policies may be required. The first one is improving public transport. If buses and trains were comfortable, affordable, and fast, more people would use them instead of driving. The second policy is the introduction of a tax on older cars. To avoid paying it, car owners will be incentivised to either upgrade to an eco-friendly electric vehicle or to simply get rid of their car completely. Implementation of these two policies together can help cities reduce car ownership and thus pollution. In conclusion, although there are multiple sources of air pollution in large cities, a significant improvement in air quality can be achieved by tackling the largest of them: petrol and diesel cars. In order to decrease their numbers, the government should increase the cost of owning a car and develop reliable public transport systems, so that city residents could use these instead.