For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write. How far do you agree with this suggestion? How important is it for a child to learn to play a musical instrument, in your view?

Whether, a child must learn a musical instrument or not is a matter of debate. There are few who feel that it is as important as reading and writing. At the same, time there are others who do not agree with such thought. I will discuss both the viewpoints in next paragraphs and I will try to come to a conclusion at the same time. On the first hand, Nowadays most parents want their wards to have the knowledge of at least of one the musical instrument of their choice. In addition to, it many of the schools in the present era are also promoting the trend by including it in the student curriculum.The reason behind the popularity of the so-called trend is unknown but the popular belief is that being useful in passing leisure time additionally, playing a musical instrument helps pupils to concentrate and to control the anxiety of competition in their studies. On the other hand, there are a lot of parents who believe that youth must be given choice to select their interests. According to, then we can not impose on them to learn at least one musical instrument. Everyone has different personalities and traits and so are their interests.One must be given the opportunity to excel in the field he or she has some interest. For illustration, wasting time on music will hamper the progress of a sportsperson or a mathematician. Thus, time management is a must in student life and such compulsive demands destroy the career of a ward. In the context of the above discussion, it can be inferred that the timetable of a student is very crucial and the imposition of music as the requirement is not in favour of a child's growth as they must be given chance to select any hobby or career by choice.