The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

It is thought some people, one the day there will be a single language – English, which is now widely spoken in the world. Having one language have its own merits and demerits. One evident benefit of having a language is that it would be easier to communicate with community, understand them; to get connected and emotions. It would be easier to learn, and share ideas, in a single language. Another plus point of all speaking the same language is that world trade would flourish as there would not be a language barrier, thus, the healthy global economy would be achieved. Along with the increment in international trade, there would not require to learn language that is happening now with people with dissimilar language. For instance, Nepalese labourers have to learn Korean language and pass the language test; only then they get job in Korea. Such kind of barrier would no longer be prevalent. Besides having positive benefits, there would be, obviously, demerits of one language as well. Firstly, unique cultures, belief system, and values that now the people and their society holds, would be buried along with their native languages’ graves. Though there having aid on global trade, there would be many countries that would be face severe financial crisis as tourism would be their major source of national income such as Nepal. This is because, there would be no point for tourists in visiting the place that hold no unique culture or hold the same as they would already have. Moreover, the world would lose its diversity which is no quite good. In conclusion, though there would be merits of having one universal language, several drawbacks would equally be widespread. Hence, the community with the original language, and cultures should be preserved so that the upcoming generation could get benefit from it and could get acquainted with their own values.