Some people say arts such as music and painting cannot directly improve the quality of people's life, so the government should not put money on art such as music and painting, instead, they should spend more money on construction of public services. Do you agree or disagree?

People have different opinions about whether the authority should allocate money to art sections, such as music and painting. Some of them insist that governments should put more money into public services as the arts have no direct contribution to people's quality of life. Here, I will explain why I agree with this view. Admittedly, arts, including music and painting, can cultivate one's sentiment, and impact one's mental health to some extent. This can be proved by the prevalence of popular music and so many painting exhibitions in cities or the application of arts as psychotherapy. Nowadays, it has become an indispensable part of people's lives, especially in developed countries and regions, so it is very important to invest in and develop them in various ways. Nevertheless, this does not automatically mean that governments should take the burden. Instead, they should provide more grants for the construction of public services rather than the arts for several reasons. First, there are diverse forms of art in society and people have different tastes and preferences for them. Therefore, if governments allocate funds to these all, it would lavish a tight budget and impose a heavy financial burden on them. Secondly, any government spending is at the taxpayer's expense. Thus, the limited financial resources should be invested in public services, which are directly related to strengthening the construction of urban and rural public facilities, including education, science and technology, health system, transport, etc. These are all rigid demands in modern cities which can guarantee the level of happiness. As for arts, investment in them should be left to the private sector, and the government could play a regulatory role in the development of this industry. To conclude, although arts are crucial to the human race, the government would be well-advised to leave them to the private sector and take citizens' desperate needs into consideration when allocating money.