An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case, and what solutions are possible?

It is observed that the more products are consumed, the more damage is caused to the environment. There are several reasons for this, and this essay will suggest some viable solutions to it. There are two key factors behind this issue. Firstly, businesses often pack their spin-offs with disposable plastic, which is non-degradable and harmful to the environment. Plastic can not be decomposition, they break down into tiny toxic particles that contaminate the soil and waterways and enter the food chain when animals accidentally ingest them. Secondly, the process that produces products releases toxic waste and poisons water sources and air. This problem can be alleviated in a number of ways. First, companies should consider using environmental-friendly materials for their packages such as paper. Moreover, minimalising the packages can be a considerable solution. For example, many take-away restaurants in Hanoi started to use paper food containers and cutleries. Consumers are often asked if they actually need chopsticks and spoons. In addition, governments check businesses regularly to see the way they treat waste and strictly fine the companies that do wrong. In conclusion, the waste caused by the production of consumer goods is still a problem due to the materials to make them as well as the packages, and proposed solutions should be adapted to solve this problem.