Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many contend that music is a powerful tool to solve cultural disparity and generational gaps. Although I do see the logic behind it bridging cultural differences, I do not feel that music is capable of levelling the differences between generations. To begin with, people tend to like the tune from their formative years and disdain other musical tastes. Each generation sticks to their favorite genre or artists and considers others not worth their attention. For example, elderly people often consider classical melodies as the main genre while disputing that other types like hip-hop and pop songs are not musical art forms. Youngsters, however, tend to enjoy sugary pop songs by Rihanna and Taylor Swift as well as hip-hop tracks by Kendrick Lamar whereas considering classical melodies boring. Hence, musical pieces cannot be a unifier for connecting generations. However, the melody is an element which is capable of being appreciated all around the world. It is considered a language that can be understood by anyone in the world. Some tunes express universal sentiment in a way that brings a level of unity and solidarity between people of the world. Beethoven, for instance, is wildly known for his symphonies considered one of the most heard music universally. By listening to his symphonies, regardless of where you are, you may feel a level of sentiment, happiness, empathy, or even unity with others. The cultural disparity among nations could be narrowed by the musical art form. In conclusion, despite my agreement with the capability of music in bringing cultural differences together, I cannot stand by a view that suggests it can level generational disparity for the reason I have mentioned above.