A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values such as honour, kindness and trust no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Our society has progressed in many ways but regrettably regressed in terms of humanity. It is argued that a person's value is determined more significantly by their social stature and wealth as opposed to the core values they possess. This essay only strongly agrees with the statement as we are indeed currently surrounded by a materialistic generation but there are still instances where the importance of humanity has not been superseded yet. It is irrefragable that the community we live in today is superficial. Someone's influence and affluence are enough to earn them friends, a job and uncountable favours. As repulsive as it could get, people have even begun initiating connections with others based on looks, popularity and richness. Korean drama shows such as True Beauty, for instance, exemplify exactly that. The web series features a girl who is mistreated and ignored due to her appearance notwithstanding her beautiful persona, all of which changes drastically when she uses heavy makeup to entirely change her get-up. In real life too, a politician's son would hypothetically receive more benefits at a government-funded institute as opposed to a poorer but brighter student. This mirrors how our current society has become quicker to "judge a book by its cover". On the contrary, this mindset hasn't entirely infiltrated this generation. There are still areas where fundamental human values like honour, kindness and trust take precedence. A befitting example of this is the practice that doctors follow. In a hospital, patients are never prioritised or shown partiality based on parameters like financial strength or social credibility. Instead, they are only prioritised based on clinical needs and every patient is treated with compassion regardless of their position in the societal hierarchy. Instances like these truly leave room for hope, convincing us that the importance of human values has not yet eroded completely. In conclusion, this essay agrees that an individual is analysed more based on parameters like social status and wealth to only some extent because people do indeed behave rather ostensibly nowadays. However, the essay cannot fully agree with the statement as there are also aspects of society where primary principles like kindness matter most.