Many people believe that cooking is an essential life skill and should be taught to boys and girls at school. Others disagree and believe that it is a waste of school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In conventional times, cooking was considered an essential life skill for women. However, over the years it has become an imperative talent for men as well as women. Since it is necessary for both genders, some people opine that this skill should be taught to children at school. Whereas, some others feel that it is simply a waste of time. In my view, cooking must be taught to children at school and this essay will elucidate my opinion as well as both views. Some individuals believe that kids go to school to get the learnings and education that will help them to become good individuals and get well-paying jobs. Cooking as a skill would not serve either of the purposes. Moreover, they feel that not all children would be interested in cooking activities and hence it will be a waste of time for these kids. For example, not all pupils would go outside the country and not all of them would aspire to become professional chefs. As most students want to get into the corporate world or become professionals like doctors or accountants, the skill would be of no use to them. Therefore, one cannot consider this talent to be an essential one at school. In general, schools are centres for children to learn skill sets that would help them to become independent in life. If such a skill is not taught to pupils at these centres, it could be possible that they might not get sufficient time to seek it during higher education. Having said that, cooking these days has certainly become a survival skill for all. For instance, nowadays, children often go abroad for further studies or better job opportunities. In foreign countries, the cost of labour is very high and unaffordable at the beginning. Hence, if the skill is not taught to heirs at an early age, they might face severe challenges. Thus, it is quite necessary to teach heirs how to cook for themselves so that they do not face issues when away from near and dear ones. In conclusion, I believe that cooking should definitely be made mandatory for children at institutions so that they are not dependent on anyone for survival.