Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there seem to be a lot less people dedicating their free time to hobbies. This essay will discuss about both positive and negative impacts of lacking passions in several areas; it is argued that hobbies are being ignored due to today's work factors especially happened between adults. Firstly, the foremost reason why fewer people pay attention to any forms of relaxation is that daily stresses and strains of modern living style has been taking a toll on it, so leisure activities have become rare luxury items one cannot afford easily. What's more, technology such as Internet is likely to serve as a constant distraction to make people evade from developing their sense of creativity such as handicrafts and painting. As a result, youngsters these days suffer from mental health issues easier than the past according to the recent report in Times Magazine. Subsequently, we cannot forget about how society plays a big part in connecting people to one another through extracurricular activities, for instance, morning walk and playing squash. In other words, we, human beings, develop a sense of intimacy based on our similar traits, likes and dislikes in order to establish stronger bonds than before. Therefore, the less committed they are with leisure pursuits, the bigger the drawbacks can be. An article described in New York Magazine is the prime example highlighting the fact that people in developed countries become more distant with each other instead of growing invaluable habits together during free time. To conclude, it is a shame that people can be clueless about the severity of hobbies which may even assist them with choosing the right career path as all successful people are the ones who manage to shift what they love to do in their leisure time into permanent careers in life.