Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for ever growing population or to develop business and boost economies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, we can observe a decline in public parks. This is due to the increase in demand for residential and commercial spaces. Due to this decrease in public parks, there are many disadvantages. The argument public park spaces could be used for residential or commercial spaces is invalid. This essay will provide relevant reasons in support of the argument. There are many disadvantages to replacing public places with other buildings. One of the major disadvantages is that cities will lose their breathing area. For example, pollution is increasing every day people are in the need of fresh air. Public places generally have huge trees which take in carbon and give out oxygen. By planting more trees we can provide fresh air to the citizens. Another disadvantage of reducing public parks is there will be no place for recreation. These usually have tracks, slides, and other games. For instance, most children after school come here to play around. By playing in these they get physically fit. These are not only meant for kids but also for older folks. Older folks come here to exercise. One other disadvantage of replacing these is the loss of livelihood of people who are dependent on them. For example, a recent study shows that whenever a park is removed. There are at least 100 folks who lose out on employment. These not only provide employment but also provides shelter to many. Almost all homeless people spend their nights here. In conclusion, there are no advantages to replacing these with other structures. Public zones are very essential and should not be replaced with anything else. Instead, they should be increased in number.