Many people believe that the high levels of violence in films today are causing serious social problems.

The amount of violence in films has been an intensifying cause of concern for many people. Such films usually materialize as exciting, entertaining and even something to imitate. Nevertheless, it is undeniable that these films can cause severe problems in our society. First of all, violent features glorified in films can negatively impact behaviour in children and teenagers. Excessive exposure to aggressive scenes in movies can make a person more hostile. Further, they lose their sense of reality and have no sympathy with the victims. Another fact is that the heroes are usually seen as admirable in these films, even though they are very violent roles of those people. This leads people to be under the imitation that they can gain respect and admiration by mirroring those fierce behaviours, leading to an increase in the levels of violence. The probability of crime would increase with these wrong opinions that make safety questionable. To combat these problems, one needs definite actions. The government should modulate the film industry on the one hand and provide better education. Moreover, producers and directors must be prevented from showing senseless violence as ‘fun’ in their films. Instead, movies could foreground the tragic consequences of violent acts, educating people, especially young people, to realise that violence is actual. To sum up, violence in films is presented at extreme levels and could create many harmful social effects. For this reason, governments and parents should focus their attention on mitigating their impact on the youth.