Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

it is true that rules and laws are the basic foundation of society. personally, I hold the belief that individuals should be allowed to do whatever they want in certain circumstances despite the essence of regulations and laws. it is worth mentioning that rules and regulations play an important role in controlling people's behaviours and personalities. in the modern era, society would deteriorate into chaos without the imposition of rules and laws because people are likely to commit a crime and take advantage of each other. as a result, the number of criminals would increase dramatically, which would lead to people's disordered lives. furthermore, the political system can not operate in an appropriate way due to the lack of regulations, especially in impoverished nations, as governments are unable to control their citizens or develop their countries without strict rules or laws. despite the aforementioned arguments, I still believe that everyone should be allowed to take actions on their own in particular situations, regardless of the restrictions rules and regulations. it is supposed that some rules and laws do more harm than good. most of them are only beneficial for a minority of people, while the majority is negatively affected by what is thought to be imposed with a view to protecting them from dangers. for instance, in Viet Nam, it is illegal to own a gun, so it is impossible for its citizens to defend themselves effectively when criminals break into their homes or attempt to murder them. therefore, people should have the right to do whatever in an emergency. in conclusion, I strongly believe that everyone needs to have their own choices in certain situations, although the foundation of society is appropriate rules and laws. it is predicted that the number of regulations will decrease significantly in order to ensure people's well-being.