In some countries, if people need to find work, they have to move away from their families and their friends. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some countries, especially the ones which are considered developing, job opportunities tend to be scarce in most parts of the country and are concentrated in big cities. In order to pursue the desired career, many people have to live far from their hometown which brings them closer to what they dream of, but at the same time, takes away from them the time for family bonding. The first and foremost advantage of moving to a big city is that people will be exposed to a wide range of different jobs that can be suitable for both their personal interests and their capabilities. For example, for jobs relating to international business partnerships, since multinational corporations usually base their offices in major cities, people taking on this career have to stay in those big cities for such opportunities. Another example relates to advertising and marketing. In small towns, the market size is unattractive so companies spend a limited amount of resources in those areas, and as a result, talented individuals in this industry mostly gather around the lively business in the cities. Another advantage of living away from their family is that people have more time to spend on career development and on their personal life. In other words, people do not have to worry about sparing time for family-related tasks or staying under some families ’ rules. Staying far from families not only helps them to avoid unnecessary distractions when participating in unwanted events but also allows flexibility in making the best environment for working life. On the other hand, there are too many disadvantages if this situation is allowed to continue. Firstly, local populations are sometimes prejudiced against migrants and their families, and so they find it difficult to integrate into society. Secondly, they may have to accept work in the host country that is low-paid and labour-intensive, and a working environment that is dangerous and unhealthy. Finally, this movement of labour has consequences for developing countries. It results in the disappearance of traditional ways of life, and the destruction of ties of kinship and close-knit families, while economic activity is left in the hands of an ageing population. The loss of the youngest and most active members of the community is incompatible with a sustainable future for that county. To sum up, I believe staying in a different city where people are in a favourable position to take the best out of their jobs is a wise choice. Despite the drawbacks, it not only helps people to make more money and have a better living standard but also enables them to have a better future and better chances to contribute their success to their families.