Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Nowadays, English is ubiquitous for almost every circumstances given its identity as an international language. No matter business, academic or academic, English is utilised in a broad-base. For example, most of the primary schools and high schools are taught in English, not to mention the universities. Consequently, it is often concerned that it will take over the indispensibility of local languages as most of the students are having less time practising their mother toungue. To my opinion, surely English is crucial to citizens' lives currently. However, the reservation of local languages should be at the top of the agenda. Learning English is more benficial than harmful, one is able to communicate with billions of strangers around the globe, to understand every page of fashion magazine introducing trend this month, and to enjoy fabulous TV shoes at dinner time. As a result, English is taught to kids for a better prospect, even leave the local languages ignored. Local language is the core a country, it represents the evolution of a civilization. For example, Cantonese can be found on books published a thousand years ago. It is every citizens' responsibility to keep their local language inherited. It could be achieved in various ways. Firstly, from the individuals' aspect, language reservation has to be started at domestic education. The core problem of children not willing to speak their local language is attributable to the lack of practising environment. Students talk in English at school and get used to the English environment, parent should help their children get through the burden of the strange environment by speaking more local language to them. Secondly, on the social basis, the government could pay more attention in constructing the environment by funding local entertainment and cultural promotion, such as supporting local singere singers for more pop songs, organising exhibitions and activities for promoting the reservation form local language. To conclude, English itself is beneficial to citizens' lifves but one should never forget his/her root.