Despite the increased access to education, a significant number of people cannot read or write. What are the disadvantages and what action should the government take?

Modern society has been witnessing an increase in people's intellectual levels, yet many people still suffer from illiteracy. This can bring several detrimental effects on employees' work efficiency and career prospects, but I believe the state can apply some measures to deal with those serious problems. Undeniably, a person's ability to access foundational knowledge will be severely affected if they cannot read or write. For example, to be able to understand workplace regulations, employees must be able to grasp the content of their company's regulations. However, those who are illiterate cannot comply with the entire set of rules owing to their low levels of education, which will impact their performance in the workplace. Another drawback is that illiteracy can put a person at a great disadvantage in finding a lucrative job. This is because most of today's office positions require employees to perform numerous basic tasks such as typing or word processing. This means that the illiterate will not qualify for the majority of those positions, and are therefore tied to unfavourable occupations as well as a low standard of living. Nevertheless, I suppose that this challenge can be significantly mitigated if the state adopts some effective approaches. It is worth noting that ensuring universal education will be at the core of the fight against illiteracy. Free-of-charge reading and writing courses should be accessible to all residents of all ages, especially groups residing in remote areas. Furthermore, education-related facilities and infrastructure such as schools and libraries need to be constructed and upgraded so that individuals can easily approach them. From there, they will have sufficient conditions to consolidate their intellectual levels and possess a more well-rounded career in the future. In conclusion, the lack of fundamental skills such as reading and writing inevitably leads to major failures in one's academic and professional paths. However, I firmly believe that constructive changes can be made to assist illiterate people to have equal opportunities in life through complimentary classes and enhanced educational facilities.