In many countries today there are many highly-qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can or should be done about it?

It is believed that a lot of qualified graduates around the world are unemployed. This essay will dwell upon the reasons for unemployment among young people and solutions that can be implemented to deal with this issue. Comparing modern opinion on higher education to the one that previous generations had, it is clear that nowadays a degree is considered to be the key to a successful life. More and more people refuse to be involved in manual labour and work in the agricultural sector, choosing to enter university instead and work intellectually. Therefore, the competition to find a perfect workplace is huge and even those, who have outstanding knowledge, struggle to get employed. Moreover, parents are also aimed at the top-notch education for their children and often choose the career path that is considered the most prestigious. For example, it is very common for the older generation in my country to force young adults to study economics and law, regardless of their interests. As a result, after getting their degree, young people do not choose this career path but try to reinvent themselves to find their true vocation. To improve the situation, the government should take certain steps to highlight the importance of different career fields that include manual work, arts, technologies and many others. For instance, apprenticeships and master classes may be held at schools to present pupils and their parents a great variety of spheres that need highly-qualified professionals. This way people will be informed about their career opportunities and will be able to make wise choices. To conclude, it is essential for students and their parents to be aware of the modern job market and make well-considered decisions to avoid future problems with employment.