Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

It is often said that plastic products, which are ubiquitous in our daily life, cause great harm to the nature. The following essay fully agrees with this statement and contains a thought that solving this issue is necessary to ensure safe future for humanity. First of all, it is worth considering that the main part of the damage from plastic pollution goes to the ecosystem, So since the era of industrial revolution until 21st century, people had been constantly throwing waste from plastic processing into atmosphere, rivers, lakes. Furthermore these plastic rubbish destroyed the environment, polluting water and air, killing fish, animals, birds and thereby causing the spread of various hereditary lung, kidney, liver diseases among residents. For instance we can look at the river Citarum flowing near Jakarta, the capital of Indonesia, there is so much garbage in it that once the crystal water turned green, all the fish living in it died and even boats are unable to sail in it due to the huge accumulation of bottles and packaging. Nevertheless, In my personal view governments can prevent similar situations around the world using a tough punitive policy, imposing fines for littering. One reason behind this is that people will never change until they are forced to change. As a result of this policy I countries with rigid governments like Singapore, Norway, Sweden the indicators of the purity of nature reach the highest marks according to independent green organisations. To sum up we all need to know that protecting the environment is the responsibility of every inhabitant of the Earth because if ecosystem dies, mankind will die with it. Changing habits is not difficult, but it takes desire.