Learning English at school is often seen as important than learning local languages. If these are not taught many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Leaning English is often seen as more important than learning local languages in schools and in my opinion, I believe that it should be more prioritized in the teaching spectrum compared to native or local languages because of the following reasons. To begin with, English is a language most commonly used for communication since decades across major countries. From western countries like USA or Canada, to even middle eastern countries like the UAE, being well versed in English holds a big benefit in the job seeking market. For instance, if an individual plans on migrating to a country like Canada, it would be a mandatory requirement to pass an English test. This is because major corporate companies, are racially diverse where English is used as the first language to communicate. Moreover, local languages are commonly spoken in households. Due to this, making English as a primary focus in schools would be of a better benefit to young children developing languages. In 2017, a research carried out by students in Dubai proves that about 85% of young kids develop the skill of speaking English faster if it is taught primarily in school. This shines light over the fact that schools making English their primary focus instead of local languages would be beneficial in the long run. To conclude, as important as it may be for students to grow up knowing their native language, I do believe that they are more at risk of dying out or being a secluded minority when it comes to conversing in English.