The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

It is thought by some that English which is used commonly by people through the tourism industry, may turn into the only language that people speak in the whole world. Having one language could bring some benefits but it also has some drawbacks. On the one hand, people who only speak one language are able to learn knowledge and promote the economy between different countries. First of all, communicating with others will be easier if they speak English with each other, and let people completely understand the culture and public completely. Moreover, there are some benefits that people can share their ideas and information for tasks. Next an advantage is that people will promote trade, business and technology because the domestic economy and the global economy are related. Indeed, using the same language will let not only countries but also humans get closer and better. On the other hand, the rise of English as a global language could lead to the loss of native languages and cultures. If people only speak English, they may forget their mother tongue and the unique cultural traditions associated with it. For instance, if Chinese people stop using their language, they may lose important cultural practices such as Chinese New Year, historic temples, and Chinese food. The loss of native languages may also lead to the loss of cultural diversity and unique perspectives, and may have negative consequences for cultural identity and heritage. To sum up, using the only language by every single person has both benefits and drawbacks. Maintaining the balance of culture and language should be vital points for the whole world.