Some people believe that individuals should be allowed to own a gun as a means to protect themselves and their families. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, many individuals have argued that possessing firearms gives better protection for themselves and their families. I disagree with this notion, as I believed that this kind of practice is potentially risky instead of self-preservation but it's more on endangering one's self and the people around you. It cannot be denied that, many death crimes that had been reported either locally or abroad are due to the accessibility of guns in their possessions. People, as we know them, are temperamental once in a conflict, often resolute in threatening their opponents with pistols to subdue them. For example, recently it was aired in the news the unreasonable killing of an ex-military to his neighbor whom his friend it was concluded that the offender is under the influence of alcohol when the dreadful event happened. Having deadly weapons at hand endure the deadly risk which accounted for many deaths. Therefore, people should not be allowed to have one at their home. Meanwhile, another reason guns should not be owned or had in their home is that they could be used for suicide. Although this thing has positive benefits like hindering theft from robbing a house, however for the family has a member with mental incapacity this will be disastrous since this is the ticket to easy kill. Hence, more suicide deaths recorded in our local city alone had used firearms to end their life, thus making this thing deadly as it is than saving. In conclusion, I would argue that allowing an individual to have guns are potentially harmful to themselves, their family, and as well as to the community. Albeit, if owning could not be prevented, the government should intervene by implementing strict rules and making them held accountable for any loss and damages.