Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals, and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is maintained by many that an unnecessarily huge amount of expenditure is allocated to the conservation of wild animals, which should rather be spent for the sake of humanity. I completely disagree with this statement. It is crucial that substantial financial resources and manpower be expended on wildlife preservation. To begin with, animals play a significant role in maintaining biodiversity and have profound impacts on human well-being. In other words, different species are mutually reliant on the food chain and their roles are equally indispensable. Therefore, the demise of a certain species from the chain can result in the widespread disruption of the whole ecosystem. As a result, the human population might suffer from shortages of food and contagious diseases owing to the imbalance in the ecology. Another justification for diverting spending on wildlife conservation is to reconcile the human-wildlife conflict. Human interference has long been held accountable for a considerable loss of habitat and wildlife population, so it is incumbent on them to take drastic measures in a bid to reverse the situation. Some may argue that there exist other critical issues that deserve further attention and investment instead of the protection of wild animals. However, dedicating financial resources to addressing such problems does not necessarily mean that the most productive outcomes are guaranteed as there are other workable approaches. For instance, propaganda campaigns should be brought into play when it comes to raising the awareness of citizens of environmental protection rather than spending on clean-up aforestation campaigns to overcome the consequences. Another example is that the role of education should be underscored in an effort to improve the living standard of a country instead of merely investing in modern facilities. When citizens are willing to acquire knowledge, there would be many engineers, doctors and economists, which would better solve the social issues that humans are confronting. In a nutshell, it is apparent that the protection of wild animals proves of great significance and should be deemed the most important global priority today.