Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

An increasing number of people use technological products to interact with their friends or families instead of getting together in the real world. In my opinion, while there are some negative effects on people communicating with others, I prefer that people socializing on the internet could bring some positive advantages. Firstly, many people argued that communicating on internet can lead to otherwise effects with our face-to-face communication skills in the reality. However, electronic devices can maintain the relationship between families and friends if people live in the different cities or countries. In other words, by using smartphones and laptops, people can communicate with others anytime and anywhere. Moreover, with voice and video chatting about having convenient interaction on socialize, people still can use language to express their ideas in contents. Secondly, by using some social apps and websites such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter can help people make new friends. People can know other users easily on social media platforms by replying to the comments on others posts or articles. Furthermore, there are some online groups which people can join with and they can find someone who has the same interest. Therefore, people can develop the connection smoothly in spite of they do not meet each other in the real world. In conclusion, although by using internet to communicate seems have some problems, it brought the positive benefits to the current human society.