In many parts of the world, children are given more freedom than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

It has become common knowledge in some regions worldwide that children are given more liberty compared to several years ago. Although this might have some positive impacts in some cases, I believe that it would have destructive consequences for them in the not too distant future. A multitude of rationales could be cited why giving freedom to the young generation would be detrimental, one of which can be that teens lack decisive knowledge. Not only are they less experienced, but they are also more emotional, meaning that they cannot distinguish between bad and good without a third-person perspective. As a result, They would take an action at their peril. As a case in point, in Iran, many under-graduated students tend to change their academic fields which are chosen by themselves freely at the age of 15 just because they were not wise enough to select the appropriate area of specialization. In this case, if they were guided and not given freedom in their childhoods, they could be more successful matures in the future. Another downside would be that youngsters are more prone to criminal activities than past due to technological development. Being at sensitive ages, they can be strongly affected by their social acquaintances or violent movies as they are permitted to access the internet without any restriction. A bright example would be that by watching a Hollywood film, they would be spurred to try various drugs or smoking, leading them to addiction. Therefore, this kind of liberty allowing them to explore online freely is disadvantageous. In conclusion, children have become much freer than before and this would have devastating consequences for their lives.