Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Nowadays, learning English is more vital than learning their mother tongue. If this trend continues, losing it is unavoidable. In this essay, I will discuss that English languages should be taught in schools while incorporating local languages in their academic studies as these are both important in socio-economic growth and in preserving heritage languages. It cannot deny that learning English provides several advantages in the business field, work, and in socialization. Since English is not the language spoken at birth by many, therefore, it's an asset for a person to learn this at school. Being skilled in the English language paves the way to success in terms of job searching. In addition, it bridges the gap between English and non- English speakers (Like the Koreans and Chinese who did study the English language for their edge) in doing business and trading. As a result, people will benefit socially and financially as many industries will look for certain people who can speak and communicate in English fluently either in our native country (Philippines) or abroad. Above all, it is fundamental to keep and continue to learn local languages to preserve one's culture. By integrating local languages into the school curriculum, children will never forget their dialect, which is slowly diminishing because more households are adopting modern practices. In the Philippines, for instance, most parents at home introduced English learning to their children at a young age. Hence, children cannot speak their own local language, which is Visaya. Therefore, it is crucial to include locals' common language as a subject, so people will not be ignorant of their culture. In conclusion, I believed that the combination of both is essential as learning English and integrating local languages will help secure the people's socio-economic success. At the same time, maintain the survival of local language heritage in the future.