In recent years, there has been growing interest in the relationship between equality and personal achievement. Some people believe that individuals can achieve more in egalitarian societies. Others believe that high levels of personal achievement are possible only if individuals are free to succeed or fail according to their individual merits. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

For some people an egalitarian society offers better opportunities for reaching personal achievements. In contrast, many are of the opinion that individual goals benefit from a system that preserves the freedom to succeed or fail. This topic is the theme of many political debates and it is very difficult to summarize the whole argument in a short essay. Egalitarians are of the opinion that Capitalistic freedom is creating a gap that is impossible to reduce. From their point of view, a person who is born into a common family has far fewer possibilities than a rich-born human. This could be due to the fact that top-tier universities require huge annual fees that cannot be sustained by the majority of people. According to them, money counts as much, sometimes even more, than merit does. Thus, success could be achieved only due to luck. In their opinion, economic wellness concedes the right to fail more than once while a normal person might struggle to recover from their first unsuccess. The other side of the discussion is formed by Libertarians. They state that a free human being has the possibility to create his own success and it is all up to him. This means that a capable person is likely to succeed thanks to his skills and qualities while an unsuccessful man has to blame himself for his failure. Personally, the right answer is a combination of the two points of view. A system that finds an equilibrium between equality and liberty would maximize the opportunities for most people and could reduce the unfair advantage that some of us got from borning in the right family.