Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the development of technology and science, the medical industry has improved. There is an increasing number of people who choose alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting doctors to solve their health problems. Although this may have a lot of benefits, the negative effects it brings should be paid more attention. Admittedly, trying alternative medicines and treatments have some positive effects. As people acknowledged, the payment for visiting a doctor is usually high, especially for those people in poor families who do not have the medical insurance. In choosing alternative medicines and treatment instead of a usual doctor, a huge number of money could be saved and used in the more important situation they consider in the future. However, it is worth noticing that visiting the usual doctor has significant meaning in treating the health problems. Doctors received professional education on how to deal with illness, being able to choose the most suitable medicines and treatment for people, bringing people back to health in the quickest way. In addition, there is the risk that people may choose the unsuitable or wrong medicines and treatments due to the lack of professional knowledge. Take my personal experience as an example, I used to take some medicines directly to deal with the fever I thought. But after taking medicines for many days, nothing changed and I had to go to visit my doctor. He told me that it was not a simple cold, it was another illness which was very serious and could not be solved by simply taking medicines. In conclusion, although trying alternative medicines and treatment can save much money, there is still the need to visit the doctor for the professional advice and treatment.