In many countries, art galleries visitors have been declining steadily. What are the possible reason? how to change this trend?

It is observed that people are losing their interest in arts in recent times. Most art galleries have also recorded that the number of visitors have been declining continously. As a result, most artists are getting increasingly concerned about this development. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this trend in detail and also suggest some measures through which this issue can be resolved. Due to technological advancements in the last two decades, interest of most people have tilted towards computer and technology. They feel that their future will be prosperous if they invest their time and effort in this subject given the pace at which technology developed. This has made other subjects like art and history extremely unpopular among people, especially the youth. Furthermore, the emergence of e-books and social media have been paintings easily accessible for those who are fond of it. A good illustration of this is the fact that even the world renowned painting of Mona Lisa can be viewed online. Given the situation, there are certain ways through which we can attract larger crowd to art galleries. Firstly, the subject of art should be made mandatory by the educational institutes so that people start to develop an interest in it. When arts become popular within the society, more individuals will become keen to check various forms of art and as a result, they will visiting art galleries more often and also in larger numbers. In addition, most people often complain that the membership fee or entry fee to art galleries is incessantly high. Take Bradford Gallery of Art as an example, their annual membership costs $500 per year which is unaffordable for the majority. Therefore, artists and organisers should address their complains and make it free of cost to students. To sum it up, the emergence of technology and unpopularity of arts as a subject is playing a major role behind this development. While on the other hand, inclusion of arts in the primary education and making art galleries free of cost will help in remediating this issue.