These days, environmental problems are becoming more common. Private citizens and businesses have just as much responsibility in protecting the environment as governments. How much do you agree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is no doubt that human beings have been facing more environmental problems these days. Some people suppose that the importance of individuals and businesses in environmental conservation is not equal to governments. From my standpoint, though governments play a vital role, the responsibility of individuals and businesses is also significant. The role that governments play in addressing environmental protection is tremendously decisive. To commence, they can enact and enforce laws to defend the ecosystem because only governments are legal to punish people and organizations that create pollution or endangered wildlife. Second, they should include environmental protection lessons in education to educate students on how and why to protect their surroundings. For instance, governments such as policymakers also have to inform the residents about the laws and give solutions to assist people to improve conditions and conserve nature. Furthermore, to make a global positive effect on the current state of the environment, just governments can represent their whole countries to cooperate and help country cleaner and greener. On the one hand, there is no reason to claim private citizens and businesses do not have the responsibility to conserve resources. First, businesses should not only eliminate industries' emissions into the atmosphere due to increasing the earth’s heat leading to global warming but also stop discharging wastewater into oceans or rivers, since the biodiversity, can be imbalanced. Above all, individual perception towards public transport can minimize emissions, which helps to address air pollution. Moreover, changes in individuals' lifestyles by using steel straws, and reusing bottles or bags rather than plastic ones, lead to the reduction of plastic pollution. To sum up, from my perspective, protecting our planet's ecosystems and resources and the future of civilization is the duty of everyone and every organization. That must be a cooperative effort. Number of words entered: 297 words