Some people think that shops should not be allowed to sell any food or drink that has scientifically been proved to have bad effects on people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a statement that unhealthy food and drink need to be prohibited completely since it is detrimental to people's physical health. However, I tend to disagree with this opinion because they are not entirely bad in many aspects. It is understandable that some individuals advocate all scientifically proven unhealthy food and drink should be banned from the market. To start with, eating junk food can exert negative repercussions on people's physical health. Containing extra calories and oil, it can lead the masses to be overweight or even suffer from diseases caused by obesity, which is absolutely detrimental to people's health condition. Additionally, provided that people, especially youngsters, consume too many snacks before meals, possibly they will lose their appetite, thereby cannot obtain enough nutrition. Under such circumstances, those refreshment lovers are likely to be less vigorous and cannot keep fit. However, it is not suitable to introduce a prohibition against all refreshments. Firstly, this can jeopardize the citizens' liberty, as everyone is entitled to taste anything they like, as long as their preferences do not break the law. Having realized the potential negative impacts of junk food, the public can consciously control their own diets. In that case, there should not be excessive interference by others. Furthermore, the fact is whether some specific food or drink is harmful to people's health actually depends on the amount of intake, which means that eating a negligible amount of refreshment has no influence on the eaters. Also, the fact is the majority of people just regard it as a way of comfort eating, which is beneficial to help them escape from sorrows and recharge their batteries. In conclusion, even though unhealthy foodstuffs can indeed bring perils to the masses, it is not a feasible measure to forbid the market from selling all sorts of junk food.