Employers somtimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information. Such as their habbies and interests, and whether thay are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that some personal information could be asked by a potential employer at the time of hiring a new asset for the company. From my point of view some data, such as hobbies or interests, could lead to a better understanding of the future employee. However, I strongly believe family status-related information should not be used for forming an opinion or hiring anybody. What a person does with his free time could tell us a lot about himself, his life habits and what skills he would be able to put at service of the position. Furthermore, it is extremely useful to have an understanding of all these abilities in order to guide this new human resource inside of the company. For instance, a sportive person interested in team sports could be a very supportive asset for working with other colleagues as he is used to it. On the other hand knowledge about marital status must not be handled by an employer for dealing with new hires. Nevertheless, we see daily how employers tend to discriminate against possible employees funding their decision on this status. This occurs especially in the case of giving an opportunity to women. Some companies may see maternity leave as an inconvenience to their project so they prefer to select a higher group of men rather than going for equal opportunities. In conclusion, while data concerning hobbies and habits are extremely useful for knowing about the new hiring, family-related knowledge should not be an incentive for selecting a potential worker thus I reckon this could lead to unfair choices and go against one of the most important struggles society is confronting recently, equality.