The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by ‎almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this ‎disturbing trend.

The proportion of obese children has risen by nearly one-fifth over the last decade. This is an alarming situation and I intend to highlight here the reasons along with the results. The minimization of mobility among children due to their keen interest in cellphones and video games has hindered their chances of burning calories consumed throughout the day, which was a natural exercise among the kids of older generations. Additionally, they are seen to be enjoying fast foods more than permitted proportions. For example, any individual who went to high school around 2005 can narrate stories of how he enjoyed playing in fields or parks with his friends in the evening after returning from school. Contradictorily, the kids of the last decade are rarely observed being involved in any outdoor games. Moreover, the continuously growing academic pressure often gives them less opportunity to mingle with friends after school. Unfortunately, this lack of body movement is hiking the body mass index among kids significantly more than what is advised by medical practitioners. This can enhance their blood cholesterol as well as their blood pressure. One of my distant cousins is presently suffering from hormonal issues due to being overweight. Doctors even suggested she should limit carbohydrate consumption as her body weight may diminish her chances of having a child in the future. Sadly many kids receive dietary restrictions when their body weight crosses a particular threshold. This limits them from enjoying many delicacies in life. To conclude, I believe kids must be encouraged to take up physical activities in higher proportion nowadays to ensure that their lifestyle does not get affected by obesity.