Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time teaching skills that can help students find a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There is an argument that history matters are taught most of the time in educational institutions. Some individuals believe that would be more effective for pupils to learn professional abilities instead, in order to help them in their professional careers. I partially agree with such a point of view because, even though learning about important work skills at school can help a person to deal with possible job challenges, studying history also is crucial, since it improves population's knowledge about past experiences and also it helps to change people’s behaviour in contemporary society. On the one hand, studying history makes youngsters aware of how important changes need to be made in the society, because it brings knowledge about negative facts that continue to occur nowadays, which can be harmful to this type of population. Consequently, there is a possibility to adjust students’ behaviour toward daily activities. For instance, it is estimated that around 4 out of 10 public schools in Brazil, take pupils to visit national museums, which results in a more effective learning process and a unique experience lived by them. On the other hand, challenging situations at work can be easier to manage once it has been learned in a specialised course, due to the fact that it simulates the work environment and its responsibility. As a consequence, the teens are more prepared to deal with stressful and high-demand situations in their employment. To illustrate, it is known that, those juveniles that already have been exposed to a previous work training course at school, showed more adaptability to this environment, which results in high performance at the job and personal fulfilment by them. To conclude, I do believe that history and work skills, both learned at school, are important to raise personality as well as improve youngsters' behaviour. However, this decision should be made by the students themselves, according to each necessity to supply personal achievements.