In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The development of technology has changed the way people communicate in the workplace, so online communication is now more common than the traditional way. In my opinion, this transformation brings more advantages than drawbacks. Regarding disadvantages, switching to online communication could weaken the bond between colleagues. As physical interactions are declined, people will have less time to connect with others than before. For instance, some activities like coffee during break times will no longer exist. Consequently, weaker links will have a negative effect on the teamwork ability of people, as they do not understand others clearly. On the other hand, there are numerous benefits of online communication compared to face-to-face meetings. Firstly, the work will be more efficient. As the exchange for work can be done anywhere at any time thanks to technology, the business will be more convenient. For instance, when the business has troubles, people can host an online meeting immediately instead of having only real-world meetings during office hours. Moreover, it is easier for officers to access the information. In detail, people can store and use the data they need as a digital file instead a bunch of paper, which will also help to reduce the company’s expenditure. Thus, although it has a disadvantage, online communication brings more advantages to the business. In conclusion, I believed that online communication has more benefits to the workplace as it makes the work more convenient for the worker. Even then, people should still have time to bond and understand each other more in order to increase the ability of team working.