Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Our dynamic society has been witnessing the outstanding rise in the sales of ubiquitous consumer goods, which is deemed to be greatly influenced by advertising rather than actual society demands. From my point of view, I certainly disagree with the aforementioned statement, which I would argue is an impulsive act of jumping to the conclusion of suggesting that utilizing advertising alone could control the consumer demands. It is undeniable that high sales of consumer products are a result of the tremendous influence of advertising. The utilization of eye-catching visual, persuasive language and limited offers generates a sense of urgency and encourages impulse buying. Brand awareness could also be initiated with campaigns leading to branded products being familiar and trusted by consumers, hence, a rise in sales. A concrete example is Apple’s iPhone sales, which skyrocket annually due to far-reaching advertising schemes. However, advertising alone could not sustain product demand in the long term. Other factors such as experiences, quality, prices and availability of products play a crucial role in influencing consumer behavior. Thus, the demand for daily necessities is obvious, regardless of the power of ads. Personal experiences and needs also have enormous impacts on purchasing decisions, which explains why poor experiences with a product or service, despite its quality advertisements, could lead to low customer retention rates. Furthermore, external factors such as financial conditions could also limit a consumer ’s ability to purchase a product regardless of how appealing the ads are. For instance, iPhone ads may seem astonishing to multiple individuals, even those with low-incomes but does not change the fact that they could not afford the product due to their financial conditions. In conclusion, while advertising can improve sales and draw attention from consumers, it is not the key factor that determines consumer demands. Companies should make an effort to focus on utilizing a combination of both advertising strategies, consumer needs and buying and service experiences to unleash the full potential of their sales.