The money spent by governments on space programmes would be better spent on vital public services such as schools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past decade, a part of governments budget has been focused on space programmes; however, some people think that it would be better to use this money on public services. This essay totally agrees with this statement, I believe that government should focus on improving citizens' lives. One of the main issues that countries should pay attention to instead of rockets, is our poor healthcare system, it is filled with flaws and only a few individuals benefit from it; therefore, governments must improve it by adding extra money to those institutions so everyone would be satisfied with them. Moreover, major cities throughout the world suffer from traffic congestion, and one of the main reasons is the quality of public transport that needs an upgrade as soon as possible, local councils should spare a part of their budget for building new bus lanes as well as railway, thus people would start using them again. Another vital service is our education system, recent innovations in science gave us a variety of new types of equipment that make learning easier for students, for example, laptops, every learner should study with one and unfortunately, our schools suffer from a lack of those kinds of tools. Furthermore, there are a lot of diseases that scientists still have not found a cure for them; therefore, governments should spend extra cash on medical research and on building new laboratories all over the country, because, in my opinion, saving people's lives is more important than sending humans to outer space. To conclude, as I have discussed, there are various reasons why governments should spend money on improving our public services, rather than spending it on the discovery of new planets.