Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. To what extent do you think is it a positive or negative development?

Throughout the world, fossils are the most used source of energy. They are used to power factories, run cars, fly planes, and so on. However, some countries are now encouraging the use of renewable sources. I believe this is a positive development because it will not only save our resources and reduce pollution but also help economies to thrive. Firstly, unlike fossil fuels, alternative sources are carbon free, which means there is no pollution when we use these sources to generate power. Burning petroleum products, on the other hand, emits a great deal of carbon dioxide – the biggest source of air pollution – thus devastating the environment and making it difficult to breathe fresh air. Secondly, fossils take millions of years to regenerate and are required in large quantities to produce little energy. For example, to power a small city for one month, millions of tonnes of coal is required, and at this unsustainably high rate, we will soon run out of these resources. However, sources like sunlight and water are unlimited, so we must invest in renewable energy and preserve the non-renewable sources for our future generations. Finally, many countries are dependent on others for fossils because they have no such resources. For example, Pakistan spends billions of dollars each year to purchase natural gas from other countries. This has an adverse impact on the citizens, who have to pay higher taxes, which has many economic implications. Therefore, in order to save money and grow our economies, we need to switch to alternative sources, which are everywhere. In conclusion, the use of renewable energy has many positive aspects. If we give up on fossils and start using solar, wind, and tidal energy, for example, we can save billions of dollars along with preserving our natural environment and making life easier for our upcoming generations.