Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Education has always been one of the most controversial topics. Some people state that it is crucial to allow students to learn what they want, while others totally disagree and think that students must be taught subjects that are highly relevant to science and technology. In my opinion, it is not the best way to decide what young people must study, because, it is evident, that science and technology are not the most interesting subjects for some students and they could be more useful in other areas. However, knowledge of science and technology probably can become vital in the future. First of all, one of the greatest achievements of the modern world is the chance to choose your own way of life and it definitely includes the possibility to choose subjects that you will study at the university. There are a lot of examples in the history, who tried to follow someone’s opinion and studied for a prospective job, but in the middle of life, they realised their mistake and turn professional life into an absolutely different area. On the other hand, nowadays technological progress is so fast, so it is possible that in the nearest future, there will not be any place for other jobs besides engineers and programmers. Therefore, it seems that having knowledge of information technology could have more benefits. For instance, today almost all schools and universities have at least one subject, which is connected to Science and Technology. To sum up, I am confident that it is crucial to give students a chance to decide what subjects they should study at the university. Although we do not know what will happen in the future and which jobs will be relevant then, it is very important to allow students to enjoy their education today.