The number of older people is increasing. Some people think this is causing problems in their countries while others feel that older people play an important role in society. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The world population has shrinked in the recent times due to several reasons. Some perceive that the increasing number of old people and a decrease in the population of youth is causing immense problems in their countries while others claim that older people are crucial in the society. This essay will discuss both perceptions in detail and explain why this trend is a concerning one. As people grow old, they get accustomed to lack of sharpness and overall fitness gets negatively impacted as they start to get physically weak. As a result, they are unable to fulfill the work demanded at workplaces due to their physical as well as mental limitations. For example, a security guard will struggle to stay vigilant and maintain his or her fitness in old age. Many industries fail to thrive and prosper as the volume of their productivity gets decreased. Considering that industries act like a back-bone to the economy of most countries, this leads to economic slowdown which creates massive inconvenience collectively. On the other hand, some people state that old people are an important group of people. It is often stated that since these people have already lived a long part of their life, they tend to utilise their experiences and do not indulge in ill code of conduct like crime and impolite behaviour. A good illustration of this is the fact that there is extremely low crime rate in elderly people. Consequently, there is negligible crime rate or improper behaviour in the society which helps the governments to administer their country with ease. Although the old people are comparatively more polite and considerate due to their longer exposure to the world and it's realities, the future still lies with the next generation. Not only they will fill the vaccum left behind in industries by previous generation but they will also keep the cultures and traditions of a country alive. Take Canada for an instance, lack of young population have prompted them to close many industries and their culture is steadily getting withered. Therefore, I strongly believe that it is imperative for countries to have huge presence of youth in their population as they are crucial in carrying forward the businesses and traditions of the country. To conclude, this essay discussed both view points regarding the increase in the older population around the globe. On one side, some state that elderly people cannot ensure the volume of productivity demanded in most industries due to their physical limitation while others claim that they are crucial part of the society who serve as an example with their law abiding and considerate behaviour. However, this essay also highlighted that if countries do not possess a healthy amount of young population, the future of their businesses and cultures may be adversely impacted.