Please evaluate Rafael Salguero Topic: In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In a number of countries around the world, people advocate taking a gap to work or travel before debuting tertiary studies. Such approach may help students to gain in maturity and to manage their bill better, but may also hinder their academic progress. one year off to travel or work can be very instructive. By traveling, students will be exposed to people of various backgrounds living under different conditions. Such experience will probably teach them to be more conscious about the reality of life and may help them grow as a person. For instance, spending time with indigenous or other less privileged community may light up their humanitarian and philanthropic qualities. Moreover, working before pursuing university studies will more likely help students to be more financially responsible. During their primary and secondary education, students are generally under total dependency of their parents/guardians without knowing much about the difficulty of earning money. A working experience will teach them much about the reality of working money and will likely make them less prone to squandering and consumerism. Despite the above mentioned benefits of a gap year, it can be very challenging academically. Some may get distracted from pursuing their studies if they start getting some dollars. Earning money and enjoying financial independence may lead some to not return to school. Such instance can be very disadvantageous in the future as big certificates and diploma are essential nowadays to be competitive in the job market. In addition, secondary school and tertiary school are generally interlinked. Lessons taught at high school are set to prepare students with skills necessary for the next level. A student who take a whole year off may forget many of the previously taught concepts and will very likely face a lot of difficulty to apprehend new modules at the university. In conclusion, taking a gap year after completing secondary school can be challenging academically despite the maturity gain and monetary management benefit that students may get.