Some people think it is a good idea for students to take a gap year to travel or gain work experience before starting university. Others think gap years are a waste of time. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Nowadays, there has been an accelerating trend of high school graduates (diplomas) taking a break from studying to work or to travel before pursuing tertiary education. While this is beneficial to some extent, I am firmly of the opinion that its shortcomings are rather weighty for the followers of this trend. In my opinion, it is an absolutely reasonable and wise decision because of its benefits. Firstly, if students get temporary work while taking a gap year between 2 levels of the education system, they will have time to enrich themselves with real-life experiences. For example, a student who intends to apply for a university of pedagogy so they need practical experience, especially pedagogical skills and self-confidence. Therefore, when they work as tutors for English center (schools), the work will help them to improve the necessary skills like English communication skills and experience. From that which those who have just entered adulthood may learn the precious value of each coin earned. Secondly, some students may also become cross-country travelers and absorb knowledge of diverse cultural settings and from different geographical contexts. These all are values of humanity that generally cannot be obtained from the majority of educational programmes yet are highly advantageous for adults. On the other hand, recent high-school graduates may have to face serious consequences once they have chosen to be gap-year takers. First, the young can be overwhelmed by the huge amount of knowledge that they have to cram into their brains to make up for the time they miss university. Moreover, to the youngsters without firm determination, a life without the discipline of formal schooling can be extremely addictive. For that reason, they may decide not to further their study after the gap year or are afraid of going back to college. For society as a whole, this is an alarming problem because such decisions can lead to a shortage of the knowledge workforce. In conclusion, I believe that there are many advantages for young people who start working or traveling prior to beginning their university studies, although this decision has some notable disadvantages.