Topic: Some people believe that more academic subjects such as chemistry, physics and history should be taught in schools, while others believe that students will derive more benefit from studying practical subjects, such as motor mechanics and cooking. Discuss both views provide your own opinion with relevant examples?

A school is a major place for most people to receive an education. Some think that more academic curriculums should be taught in school, while others believe students shall be given more practical courses which would be more useful for career preparation. I agree with both views but it depends on the individual's own situation to balance these options. Academic courses are fundamental to all studies which build students ' common knowledge of their recognition of the world. For example, by learning history we know why the world is now and how the world become today's pattern. A person without profound history knowledge might not be able to understand globalisation and international trade. Take chemistry for another example, many people don't think it's necessary to learn as they never want to be a chemist. But when you are ill and go to the drug store to buy medicine, you will need the knowledge of reading the instructions and the chemical ingredients. Those fundamental courses are beneficial for the student's future learning and engage them with critical thinking abilities. Besides academic subjects, practical courses such as cooking or mechanics is also important,especially for students who want to enter society early to make a living. These skills are closely linked with the job requirements, which can help the students start their careers more easily as they were trained-oriented. Students after these courses could be directly fit for the role in a certain job. For instance, after the bakery class students learn the skill of making bread or cakes, which could bring them the opportunity to work in a bakery shop or factory. However, if people want to be a master in the bakery, the academic subject that they learnt at school will enhance their understanding such as the percentage of ingredients, resources of fresh materials, etc. It will enable him to be more successful in his career. So in conclusion, both academic and practical courses are important to students. They should choose a combination of both to make preparation for their future career and life.