Many parents complain that computer games have no value to their children’s studies. And, those online games have produced a lot of negative effects on their mental and physical development. What is your opinion on this?

Video games have become one of the most popular entertainment forms in modern society, targeting people of different ages. However, many parents criticize that this type of entertainment is useless and poses certain drawbacks to their children’s mental and physical development. Personally, I totally agree with this opinion. Firstly, regarding mental development, it is undeniable that when individuals are addicted to video games, they can sit in front of the computer screen for hours, leading to a lack of face-to-face interaction. If this situation happens for a long time, they are likely to be autistic. To illustrate, a statistical report from a Vietnamese institution for autistic children revealed that 90% of its students get autism due to the negative effects of digital games. In addition, with the booming of the Internet, hundreds of violent games are available on social media, arousing human curiosity, especially among teenagers, and stimulating them to imitate illegal activities. This in turn leads to an increase in the crime rate. For example, the FBI reported that offenders who were affected by violent games and movies contributed to 50% of school shooting cases in the U.S. Secondly, in terms of physical development, when sitting on a chair or staring at the computer screens for hours, players may not have many chances to participate in physical activities, like doing physical exercises and playing sports regularly. A little movement and burning a small number of calories are two main reasons causing growth in overweight people. Therefore, more and more individuals are experiencing obesity at an early age. Additionally, spending more time on computerized activities means that there is a reduction in the number of hours for quality sleep, leading to sleep deprivation which trickles down to a poor health index. In conclusion, while video games can help players to relax and reduce their stress, they have no educational value and bring a variety of disadvantages to people’s mental and physical improvement.