People have different views on how to reduce traffic congestion by governments. Some think it can be solved by building more train and subway lines, while others believe building more roads and widening existing roads will reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Modern urbanization has triggered an influx of rural populations to nearby cities, resulting in an inevitable increment in traffic. Granted, building more train and subway lines or widening existing roads could accommodate more vehicles and passengers. However, both these methods have their drawbacks and in my opinion, the administrator’s failure to confront the core problem will worsen the situation. Building more train and subway lines is not an ideal solution to traffic congestion due to the fact that, first of all, it requires a large initial investment and years of time to construct, so it is not suitable for solving the pressing situation of traffic jams at hand. Moreover, well-developed transportation networks could engender rebound effects in that they may further attract more rural residents crowding into cities, which intensifies the traffic jam. Similarly, neither building more roads nor widening existing roads is advisable as they could encourage more vehicles on the road. In addition, it is not the lack of space on road but inefficient driving during rush hours that is causing traffic jams. For example, unnecessary stops on the highway, impatience when waiting at the crossroads, or other uncivilized behaviours will cause chaos in peak times, holding the whole way up for longer. Therefore, immediate actions aiming at improving traffic efficiency may be more feasible and useful. For instance, appliances displaying instant traffic information and advice could be designed and installed in cars or cellphones to help drivers avoid busy roads on their commute. Additionally, enforcing stricter regulations on driving norms can prevent careless or dangerous driving, eliminating unnecessary delays on the road. In conclusion, modern cities are increasingly developed, and infrastructure construction can provide short-term solutions to most problems. Still, in the long run, it results in population growth that exacerbates the problems that were initially solved. Encouraging smarter and more efficient utilization of existing facilities is the best way to address traffic congestion.