In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Every time a new model of iPhone was released, some of my friends would sell their old ones in order to keep ahead of the fashion trends. It makes me wonder why there are many companies making advertisements to publicize their products and claiming that these are the most advanced and latest creations. In the following essay, I would elaborate on the reasons for it and explain why I think it is a bad trend for those businesses to do so. To begin with, the major reason can be that those companies are trying to make more profits by creating customer demands. For example, when mobile phones were introduced, they helped people to communicate more effectively. Thus, the first company which rolled out the products can predominate in the market and is more likely to get the most consumers and profits. In other words, innovation skill is usually considered the most important asset of a company, so many firms would advertise their goods as the latest technologies. From a personal perspective, I believe this kind of technique is overused and can lead to generating unusable features. For instance, Apple releases new iPhones every year, yet there are very few improvements on some basic and fundamental devices such as chips and cameras. They focus more on introducing new features that are not in demand. Touchbar, which is a small banner on the screen to display time, is one of them and often gets criticized or ignored by its users. In conclusion, although advertising innovations can help firms to get wealthy, I believe this way of promotion is abused and,in turn, causes useless products.