In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, advertising plays a vital role in promoting the products and services of the business. We can clearly see these days that businesses try to attract the consumers ’ attention by focusing on the products ’ new features. This can possibly be due to advertising trends and I personally believe that this is a positive trend. In this contemporary era, consumers can access a wide variety of choices through different channels. Businesses are under pressure to increase their market share and thus they put a substantial effort into highlighting what makes their product different from the rest and why the consumers choose it. For example, whenever Apple introduces new products, they highlight the new and improved features of the products. Also, businesses are exploiting human behaviour in their marketing strategy which is the customers tend to have an interest in only new features that they can’t find elsewhere. Consumers can greatly benefit from this advertising trend as advertisements provide the necessary info on products. Therefore, customers can make an informed decision before their purchase. In addition to consumers ’ advantage, this trend requires businesses to continuously research and improve their products which in turn makes a positive impact on the business industry as a whole. To illustrate, in the mobile phone industry once the business can’t introduce new features to their products every year, they will lose a competitive advantage over their rival. In conclusion, an intervention of advertising strategy to give focus on product differentiation can bring advantages to the consumers and industry.