Many educational institutions give greater importance to subjects related to science and ignore subjects such as drama and literature. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that most of the attention of educational establishments is on science, while fields like drama and literature are usually overlooked. There are several explanations for why this could be the case and I believe it could serve as a progressive trend. To begin, a number of reasons lie behind the development. At first, science is the most valued and demanded core subject all over the world. It has gained tremendous popularity as it may provide a person with the knowledge on fundamental level, which is taking a place in the requirements list of many jobs. On top of that, cutting-edge technology, driverless cars, huge spaceships, vaccines from illnesses, 3D printers that now can even print meat without an animal loss–all of these are the outcomes of diligent scientists' hard work, not refined artists' exquisite performance. To illustrate this, if 8 year old children are asked to name 3 most successful people in their opinion, they would probobly say Elon Musk, Mark Zuckerberg and Steve Jobs, and I am confident that none of them would name William Shakespeare, J.K.Rowling or Mark Twain, becouse the world does not revolutionize by writing childish stories. Neither drama nor literature is going to ignite the fuel for blast of uncharted discoveries and marvelous inventions, only science can be the trigger for it. Instead of giving a child a tonn of useless literature homework or preparing them to an acting on a stage with a pointless role and talking nonsense, children had better be given scientifical courses, so that they can find their personal interests at an early age. Youth can also be involved in some medical surgeries or physical experiments to better dive into the practical part of the science and grasp the difficulties and responsibilities of professionals. Take Taiwan as an example, pupils have computer science, robotics and data science as their core subjects, therefore, they have distinguished scholars at schools and the country is leading in selling computer chips of high quality. In conclusion, there are some reasons why drama and literature are overlooked at schools, and I am concinced that it may lead to positive consequences.