Many educational institutions give greater importance to subjects related to science and ignore subjects such as drama and literature. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Education plays a critical role in shaping individuals and society as a whole. However, some educational institutions prioritize science-related subjects over subjects such as drama and literature. In my opinion, the reason why most of them put forward STEM subjects is because these ones can be helpful for students' later lives, and this development can bring many benefits to educational establishments and society. Nowadays, more students are attracted towards science and technology, but there are many who are still unable to get enrolled in this field. To overcome this gap, universities are providing great range of courses in STEM although not all learners are passionate about it. For instance, in the USA, top educational institutes are ranked according to research they conducted in the field of technology as a primitive parameter. If they do not follow this trend, they might lose the race for new developments. As a result, they engage people to become a part of this community. In my opinion, the trend set up by the institutions is climbing up nowadays where literature and drama are becoming unpopular among teenagers. Consequently, students from these fields are unable to receive employment even if they are experienced. For example, In Sweden, in recent years unemployment significantly rose in the sector, such as art. Therefore, people are shifting their focus from these sectors to science because it can help them achieve their dreams faster and can give them financial stability early in life. In conclusion, it is true that educational institutions put in priority science-related subjects over art subjects. I believe that STEM subjects have more advantages in the educational field and in the life of society.