In the past lectures were the traditional method of teaching large numbers of students. Nowadays new technology is increasingly being used to teach students. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this new approach?

In recent years, it has become far more common for teachers to apply state-of-the-art technology to educate students instead of using conventional methods like lectures. This essay will elaborate on the strengths and weaknesses of this trend. On the one hand, the introduction of new technology is unbeneficial to some extent. First of all, the appearance of advanced tools can lead to the student's distracted from studying. This is because when students learn online at home, they can freely do other irrelevant activities such as browsing the internet or playing computer games without being under the control of teachers like at schools. As a result, students gradually ignore their assignments of study, instead of that, they are likely to suck into the virtual world, which leads to an alarming decline in their scores and loss of knowledge. Besides that, mass exposure to the screens of these technological tools could cause an increase in sedentary lifestyles and even cause various health issues such as obesity, diabetes and short-sighted eyes. Despite the above-mentioned negative effects, this phenomenon might have its upsides. The first and foremost reason is that applying cutting-edge technology enables students to apprehend knowledge and lessons in an easier and much more effective way.To illustrate, these days, many lessons are designed by advanced tools such as the Powerpoint app, which makes them much more intuitive and lively with the appearance of pictures, volumes and even videos for students to approach and understand. In addition, technological developments offer great flexibility since it is no longer essential for people to present directly in the lecture theatre for their courses. This means that people who are busy with their work and want to enhance their knowledge or students from other regions and countries can have the opportunity to attend part-time online courses at a flexible time frame. In conclusion, while there are many advantages regarding the introduction of technology into education, its demerits are also worth considering.