The government is spending a lot of money discovering other planets. Some people think that the government is wasting money and should spend more money addressing the problem of the public. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

One of the controversial topics today relates to whether monetary budgets should be allocated more to space exploration or be spent solving current societal problems. Although myriad folks oppose wasting financial resources on this field, I advocate investing more in universal discovery. On the one hand, many opine that it is a waste of money to use citizens' taxes on discovering outer space. It is a matter of fact that billions of dollars have been invested to train astronauts, build space ships and operate space stations, which adds a financial burden to every dweller. In the meantime, in many areas, human beings are suffering from many urgent issues which need addressing immediately. For instance, many children's health in Africa is put in jeopardy as a result of malnutrition, hunger and poverty. Hence, it is easy to see why this argument is widely supported. On the other hand, it is often argued that universal discovery is not a futility as many applications of this implementation have positively influenced our lives. The first merit is that the use of GPS brings about numerous benefits to the way we travel. For example, with the advent of GPS, it is handy for a plethora of commuters to track their routes. Another application is the use of satellites in forecasting the weather, resulting in abundant advantages for everyone, especially farmers whose job is mostly affected by weather changes. Also, the signals from these devices aid scientists to predict the potential occurrence of numerous natural disasters such as T-sunami, earthquakes or devastating storms, which helps to save millions of lives. Therefore, it goes without saying that this viewpoint is strongly advocated. To conclude, both arguments have their own reasonable opinions. However, I concede that the merits seem to exceed their downsides. Nevertheless, governments should take consideration on how to allocate revenue efficiently to ensure citizens' living standards.