Parents of obese children shouldbe punished for making them fat. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that obesity is increasingly becoming a major concern in todays society. There is a belief that guardians of such children should receive punishment for not taking their care. In this essay, I will explain why I disagree with this opinion and support my view with examples. Firstly, adolescents are said to be emotional because of their low maturity levels. Because of this, parents have to treat them with extreme care and affection. If they force their opinions on them, then there is a possibility of them becoming stubborn and ill-mannered. For instance, we often see that children get what they want by either crying or refusing to do what their guardians want. In addition, if they continue to scold or disregard their requests on a regular basis, then this can also affect their relationship in various ways. Hence, ultimately they have to give in to their children's demands. Secondly, genetics also plays an essential role in the fatness of a child. Some are faced with this disease because it is often considered as a hereditary issue. For example, research conducted by BBC revealed that around 40% of families in the US suffer from hereditary related problems including obesity. Furthermore, some medical conditions like thyroid which affects the hormones can also lead to these issues. In conclusion, I believe, there are several reasons behind adolescents gaining weight as it can be because of family inheritance or a few medical conditions and it would be unjust and unfair to punish the parents just because their child is fat.